SCD Shepherd’s Pie

Shepherds PieI love making one dish meals. It makes life so much easier, especially when I have to make two separate meals. One of my favorite pre-SCD meals was Shepherd’s Pie.  I loved the comfort of mashed potatoes.  It was a great meal for a cold night in the winter. I recently found a Shepherd’s Pie recipe from SCD For Life.  The recipe is delicious and mashed cauliflower is just as comforting as mashed potatoes.  I rarely made a recipe that I do not change and the same goes for this recipe. I have included my changes below.

1 LB Ground Beef
1 tbsp olive oil
1 cup chopped carrots (4 – 5 medium carrots)
1 cup chopped onion (1 medium onion)
1cup peas (fresh or frozen)
3 TBS homemade tomato paste
2 cups vegetable stock
1 clove garlic
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp pepper
1 large head of cauliflower (or 2 small)
2 tbsp butter
1/2 cup yogurt
1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

I changed the amount of meat, I did not use celery, I used 1 cup of peas instead of 1/2 cup, I only used 2 cups of vegetable stock, 3 TBS of tomato paste instead of tomatoes, 1/2 tsp of dried thyme (from my garden) and I did not use bay leaf. The changes I made came out lovely. My husband enjoyed it. I could not get my 4 year old to try it. It does not pass the 4 year old test.

Leave a Reply

