Weekly Staples

Every week I have certain staples in my house that need to be cooked.  My list has grown over the years I have followed the Specific Carbohydrate diet.  The list is even longer now that I want my daughter to eat closer to the SCD than the SAD diet.  I am trying to push her to a more whole foods diet. Luckily my husband and daughter do not have any gut or health issues that we are aware of so I do not see a need for them to follow the SCD strictly.  I do believe they should at least be eating a whole foods diet.

  • Pancakes for breakfast throughout the week
  • SCD yogurt
  • muffins, both grain free & whole foods
    • For the grain free muffins I enjoy the muffin recipe from the Breaking the Vicious Cycle book because it is so versatile and you can make changes easily
  • granola bars (for husband and daughter)
  • One pot of soup for lunches or quick dinners (I freeze in portioned sizes, and I also use my crock pot so I don’t have to watch it)
  • SCD legal bread
    • Lois Langs Luscious Bread from the Breaking the Vicious Cycle book.
  • Homemade bread for the rest of the family.
    • They do not like my SCD bread.
  • I use my beloved rotisserie cooker every week and make a whole chicken for dinner and use it to make other meals or have chicken salad for lunches
  • I hard boil about 10 eggs a week for snacks, quick breakfast, and lunches
  • Mayonnaise
  • Soak beans

In addition to this list I also prep a lot of my meals. I like to chop my veggies ahead of time instead of rushing at dinner time. If I am making pizza that week I will make the dough ahead of time and throw it in the freezer.  We do not always go through our weekly pot of soup so we end up with a stash of soup for quick meals.

Leave a Reply

